Background Photo Provided by the
Nebraska Tourism Commission
Offical Nebraska Government Website
Office of Governor Pete Ricketts

Gov. Ricketts Thanks President Trump for Disaster Declaration

Media Contacts:  

Eric Maher, Governor’s Office, 402-471-1974

Jodie Fawl, Emergency Management, 402-471-7428



LINCOLN – Today, Governor Pete Ricketts issued a statement following news that President Donald J. Trump had approved a disaster declaration for Nebraska following a severe winter storm and straight-line winds in April.


The declaration means federal aid is available to help supplement state and local recovery efforts in 31 counties impacted by a severe winter storm and straight-line winds in April. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will make funding available to state and eligible local governments on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and repairs of facilities damaged in the following 31 counties:  Antelope, Blaine, Boone, Boyd, Cheyenne, Clay, Custer, Deuel, Fillmore, Garfield, Gosper, Greeley, Hall, Hamilton, Holt, Howard, Keith, Knox, Logan, Loup, Madison, Merrick, Nance, Nuckolls, Pierce, Platte, Rock, Sherman, Valley, Webster, and Wheeler.


“Thank you to President Trump and his team for approving this declaration,” said Governor Ricketts.  “Nebraska communities pull together to overcome our shared challenges, and this assistance will help us accelerate our efforts to fully recover from the winter weather and winds we experienced in April.”


A copy of the letter requesting the declaration.
April Declaration Request Letter.pdf


A copy of a letter from Nebraska’s congressional delegation supporting the Governor’s request can be found by clicking here.


A fact sheet about the disaster declaration.
Aprl Disaster Summary.pdf