Background Photo Provided by the
Nebraska Tourism Commission
Offical Nebraska Government Website
Office of Governor Pete Ricketts

Gov. Ricketts, Education Department Recognize 22 High School Students for Top ACT Scores

Media Contacts:  

Luke Robson, 402-471-1967

Eric Maher, 402-471-1974




Governor Ricketts, NDE Commissioner Matt Blomstedt (far left), and ACT Representative

Rob Dennis (far right) with Nebraska high school students who achieved top scores on the ACT.



LINCOLN – Today, Governor Pete Ricketts and the Nebraska Department of Education recognized 22 Nebraska high school students for their academic achievement in earning top scores of 36 on the ACT college entrance exam.  The recognition ceremony was held at the Nebraska State Capitol in Lincoln.


“Congratulations to the 22 students who achieved the top score on their ACT,” said Governor Ricketts.  “In achieving the highest mark possible on their college entrance exam, these students displayed true Nebraska characteristics of hard work, discipline, and grit.  They should be very proud of their accomplishment, and I’m excited to see where the future takes these bright Nebraska students.”


Addressing the students directly, Governor Ricketts said, “Wherever your college plans may take you, I hope you will continue to make Nebraska your home as you start your careers and raise a family.”


The Governor was joined by Nebraska Department of Education Commissioner Matt Blomstedt and ACT’s Nebraska State Lead Rob Dennis to honor Nebraska’s graduating seniors earning the highest possible composite scores on the exam.  Students were presented with certificates recognizing their achievement in academic excellence.


“Congratulations to the outstanding Nebraska students who achieved the top score on the ACT,” said Education Commissioner Matt Blomstedt.  “Their test scores represent an amazing level of dedication, achievement and academic excellence.  Their parents and teachers are proud of their work, and their commitment to excellence is an inspiration to other students.  We look forward to following their progress in the years to come.”


Graduating top scoring ACT students include:


  • Lauren Franzen, Elkhorn High School
  • Kaitlyn Ryan, Gretna High School
  • Jacob Mann, Gretna High School
  • Calla Sullivan, Norris High School
  • John Brockmeier, Kearney High School
  • Jesse Lin, Lincoln East High School
  • Emma Jewell, Lincoln East High School
  • Ruby Hoffman, Lincoln High School
  • Cole Shank, Lincoln High School
  • Aaron Haake, Lincoln Southwest High School
  • Jae Hyun Lim, Lincoln Southwest High School
  • Gregory Hubbard, Lincoln Northeast High School
  • Darin Schlautman, Pius X High School
  • Vishnu Menon, Millard North High School
  • Daniel Fu, Millard North High School
  • Victoria Lei, Brownell-Talbot School
  • Bennett Wright, Elkhorn South High School
  • Joseph Hennessey, Creighton Preparatory School
  • Gabriel Drew, Creighton Preparatory School
  • Dawson Beutler, Millard West High School
  • Jonah Turner, Millard West High School
  • Galdino Guzman Navarro, South Sioux City High School

Gov. Ricketts, Education Department Recognize 22 High School Students for Top ACT Scores