Background Photo Provided by the
Nebraska Tourism Commission
Offical Nebraska Government Website
Office of Governor Pete Ricketts

Gov. Ricketts Condemns the Legislature's Decision to Repeal the Death Penalty

Audio here.

This afternoon, Governor Pete Ricketts issued a statement following the Legislature’s decision to repeal the death penalty in Nebraska.

“My words cannot express how appalled I am that we have lost a critical tool to protect law enforcement and Nebraska families,” said Governor Ricketts. “While the Legislature has lost touch with the citizens of Nebraska, I will continue to stand with Nebraskans and law enforcement on this important issue.”

The Governor thanks the following senators that voted to sustain his veto: Senator Dave Bloomfield,  Senator Lydia Brasch, Senator Joni Craighead, Senator Curt Friesen, Senator Mike Groene, Senator Dan Hughes, Senator Jerry Johnson, Senator Bill Kintner, Senator John Kuehn, Senator Tyson Larson, Senator Beau McCoy, Senator John Murante, Senator Merv Riepe, Senator Jim Scheer, Senator Ken Schilz, Senator Dave Schnoor, Senator Jim Smith, Senator John Stinner, Senator Dan Watermeier.