Background Photo Provided by the
Nebraska Tourism Commission
Offical Nebraska Government Website
Office of Governor Pete Ricketts

Gov. Ricketts Appoints Judge Jeffrey J. Funke to the Supreme Court

Media Contacts:

Taylor Gage, 402-471-1970

Eric Maher, 402-471-1974


Headshot here.


LINCOLN – Today, Governor Pete Ricketts announced his appointment of Judge Jeffrey J. Funke to the Supreme Court of the Fifth Judicial District of Nebraska.  Currently, Judge Funke serves as a District Court Judge for Cass, Sarpy, and Otoe Counties.


“From working over a decade in private practice and hearing 10,000 cases, Judge Funke brings a diverse legal background to the Supreme Court,” said Governor Ricketts.  “As Nebraska’s new Supreme Court Judge, his temperament and demeanor will be an asset to the court, the legal community, and the people of Nebraska.”


Before his time on the District Court, Judge Funke served as a County Judge for the Second Judicial District from 2007-2013.  Before his first appointment as a judge, Funke worked in private practice, served as a county attorney, and also as a deputy public defender.


While serving on the District and County Courts, Judge Funke has handled over 10,000 cases covering civil, criminal, domestic relations, and probate matters among others.


Judge Funke holds a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with an emphasis in Accounting from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and a Juris Doctor from the University of Nebraska College of Law.


Funke serves as a Judicial Education Member of the District Judges Association, and was the County Court Representative on the Case Management Committee for Nebraska Trial Courts from 2010-2013.


The vacancy is due to the upcoming retirement of Judge William M. Connolly on August 1, 2016.  This is Governor Ricketts’ third appointment to the Nebraska Supreme Court.


The Fifth Judicial District for the Supreme Court consists of portions of Hall, Adams, Webster, Nance, Hamilton, Clay, Nuckolls, Polk, York, Fillmore, Thayer, Colfax, Butler, Saline, Jefferson, Saunders, Gage, Cass, Otoe, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson Counties.  A map of the district can be found at